Father’s day special!

Hi all

It’s father’s day here in the UK today and I was honoured to have a few personalised orders in for various lucky dad’s across the area, some of which I’m going to share with you now! Please excuse the photography, am still trying to find the best place to get light in my office!

So the first card was for a keen biker, and, as his main job is a landscape gardener, I thought I’d stick to bright colours that reminded me of gardens in the summer time

Father's day bike

The image is a retired Stampin’ Up! Motorbike one which I coloured and added a shine effect which is similar to the result give by Stampin’ Up! Crystal Effects (£5.25 – 101055) The background is Daffodil Delight and the papers were from International Bazaar, which is retiring on 30 June so if you do like it and want it you need to get in quick! (Price is £9.95 for 12 12″x12″ papers 2 of each design – 126920) The brown background on bike and message is a sneak peek at one of the new in-colours coming on 01 July – this one is called Baked Brown Sugar

The next card is for an older father who isn’t very well at the moment so I wanted to create a simple yet bright card to cheer him up

Button father's day

Unfortunately I’m not quite sure which papers these are as they were given to me by a friend and I cannot find them in either catalogue! So I’m guessing they may have retired now but similar to the green spotty one is available in the Polka Dot Parade papers which are not being retired (yippie!) and are £9.95 again for 12 sheets of 12″x12″ double sided papers – 126902. The button and gems are just generic ones I had in craft room.

The next card I was asked to make was a last minute rush job, the lady ordering wanted a special one for her partner for his first father’s day with them. She wanted a special message adding to the card to personalise it and left the design to me stating that she just wanted a holiday theme…..of course where would we all love to be on holiday but a nice hot beach (personally with a large cocktail and a good book!)

Beach father's day

I decided not to make it too fussy as there was a lot of writing to go on to it and I had the perfect papers to hand to create this beach theme! The sand was achieved using Stampin’ Ups! Daffodil Delight card stock with the Sunshine & Sparkles Designer Series Paper (or DSP for short – took me ages to work out what my fellow Stampin’ Uppers! were talking about!) which is being retired on 30 June so again, if you like it get it now before it’s gone forever! – £9.95 for 12 12″x12″ double sided papers – 126922. The sea was from the Sunshine & Sparkles DSP again and I cut over the waves to give a more “life-like” appearance. The sky is from the Tea for Two DSP, again retiring on 30 June, £9.95 for 12 12″x12″ double sided papers – 129311. The surfboard I printed the message on to some Pumpkin Pie card stock which is available, along with Daffodil Delight, from the Brights collection at £6.25 for 20 A4 sheets (2 of each brights colour) – 121698 or £8.95 for 20 12″x12″ papers (again 2 of each brights colour) – 119710.

The last card I was asked to make was for someone who’s baby is only a month old (aww!) so I wanted to make the card fun and bright and a bit child like as it’s from such a young baby!

Elephant father's day

The card stock is from the brights collection again and I used Daffodil Delight, Pacific Point, and Melon Mambo. The DSP was the Sunshine & Sparkles collection (details above), such a versatile paper collection, I’ve really enjoyed working with it! The image is Lili of the Valley and was coloured with Copics. The buttons were generic ones I had in craft room.

And just in case you wondered where my dad’s card is, here you are 🙂

Dad's fathers day card front

 

So there’s my little collection, I hope everyone has a wonderful day celebrating with their dad’s, I love my dad to bits so shall be spoiling him rotten today!

Remember if you have any questions about Stampin’ Up! or wish to place an order (catalogues available to view here) you can email me at smudgecrafts@yahoo.co.uk or complete the contact form below.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sam x

One thought on “Father’s day special!

Leave a Reply

